Site Safe Scholarship Winners Announced

10 Oct 2017

Site Safe is proud to announce the 2017 recipients of the Certificate in Construction Site Safety scholarships.

Sixteen future safety leaders will now embark on the journey to complete Site Safe’s most advanced health and safety qualification.

Site Safe Chief Executive Alison Molloy said this year’s candidates faced some strong competition, with a record number of entries received this year.

"More than 95 people applied for the scholarship programme, so there were some tough decisions, even though we increased the number of scholarships this year.

"All of the applicants were all of a very high calibre and well supported by their employers. It’s great to see the industry backing their people and recognising the value of health and safety training.

“I’d also like to thank Dominion Constructors for their support coming on board as our inaugural scholarship sponsor.”

The 2017-2018 round also marked the first award of the new Women in Construction scholarship, with four candidates successful in the new category. Six scholarships were awarded across the Maori and Pasifika categories, three in the Under 25 and three in the Open category.

All recipients receive complimentary training towards the Certificate in Construction Site Safety, a dedicated Site Safe mentor to support them in their studies, and a complimentary ticket to Site Safe’s annual gala event upon graduation.

The Site Safe Certificate in Construction Site Safety is a collaboration between Site Safe and Unitec, and provides essential health and training for workers and managers in the construction industry.


The 2017-2018 recipients are:


Scholarship Recipient



Jackson Darren MacFarlane


Napier City Council

Shane Harley Steedman-Bennett


Ebert Construction

Lana Ann Dalley


Ally Pro Limited

Shaun Matthew Madden


Aotea Electric

John Michael Bornhauser


Absolute Landscaping Solutions

Trevor John Gillan


Southern Group Training Trust

Gareth James Samuels


Safari Construction Limited

Seleni Tagicakibau


Milne Construction Ltd

Setu Matafeo


Aspec Construction Ltd

Zeb Sebastian Bakker

Under 25

Plumbing & Gas Works Limited

Jordan Ryan Magnus

Under 25

Décor Tiling

Jack Alexander Aplin

Under 25

W&W Construction Ltd

Sai Poulter Johnson

Women in Construction

G N Brewer Ltd

Reem Barakat

Women in Construction

Aurecon New Zealand Limited

Victoria Esson

Women in Construction

Land Information New Zealand

Kellie Ann Bullock

Women in Construction

Keith Bullock Contracting Limited