NAWIC Finalists Announced

26 Jun 2017

Women are flourishing throughout New Zealand’s construction sector with 39 finalists in the annual Hays National Association of Women in Construction Excellence Awards reflecting the outstanding contribution being made by women across the industry.

The awards, which will be held at the Aotea Centre in Auckland on Friday 18th August, celebrate the achievements of women in construction along with honouring organisations which are actively working to redress the industry’s gender imbalance.

The awards have six categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The finalists in each category are:

The Helen Tippett Award – Becky Macdonald (Beca), Laura Clifford (Hawkins Construction), Pam Bell (Prefab NZ), Robyn Phipps (Massey University), and Sue Bradley (Beca)

Tradeswoman of the Year – Laisa Pickering (Electrix Ltd), Lisa Lawrence (Basically Floors Ltd), Melvina Browne Uriarau (LiveWire Electrical), Tina Mehlhopt (Honeybone Builders), and Verena Maeder (Solid Earth Ltd)

Professional Woman of the Year –  Andrea Williamson (Fletcher Construction), Andrea Jarvis (Holmes Consulting Group), Carolynn Marot (CPB Contractors), Donna Bridgman (GHD NZ Ltd), Hayley Tribble (Tripro Ltd), Lana Duboka (AECOM), and Rachael Rush (Klein Ltd)

Outstanding Achievement in Design – Esther Loh (Beca), Sheila Karimi (Beca), and Sian France (Beca)

Excellence in Construction Administration – Bev McKay (Registered Master Builders Association), Carolyn Jane (Signature Residential Ltd), Sophie Lackey (Leighs Construction Ltd), Sally Davis (BCITO), Sarah Greenwood (Respond Architects), and Emma Cushnie (Fulton Hogan)

Rising Star Award – Steph McLeod (Stantec NZ Ltd), Harriet-Rose Follas (Beca), Jordan Kirk (Fulton Hogan Ltd), Stephanie Cerpa (Contract Construction), Vikki Stephens (Beca), and Willien Irvia (Rawlinsons Ltd)

Student/Apprentice Excellence Award – Emily Sutton (City Care Ltd), Nikita Ward (Hutt Gas and Plumbing Systems Ltd), Amritpal Kaur (AUT), Fahimeh Zaeri (AUT), Gillian Linton (Arvinda), Lisa Brook (Signature Homes Ltd) and Megan Burfoot (AUT)

Visit the NAWIC website for further information.